FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Getting screenshots?

<<

DustyBadger

User avatar

Private First Class
Private First Class

Posts: 983

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:44 pm

Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Post Wed May 30, 2012 9:22 am

Getting screenshots?

As I am more or less illiterate when it comes to computers I figured I might as you folks. Is there a (easy and accessible) way to get good screenshots from a DVD, say from an SG1 episode, except using the old "pause and print screen" option ?
NAME: ... that new guy Dr Jackson dragged in.
CALLSIGN: DustyBadger
RANK:
ASSIGNMENT: ... dont know yet, but it seems to have something to do with those early Asgardian artefacts SG1 found on Nifelheim.

I hope you like Guinness, sir. I find it a refreshing substitute for... food.
Col. Jack O'Neill. Lost City, part 1.
<<

Zathras

User avatar

2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant

Posts: 2139

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:54 am

Location: North Lauderdale, Florida

Post Wed May 30, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Getting screenshots?

I'm not a PC Geek by any means... but I usually use the "snipping tool" when I want to capture something because I can pick exactly what portion of the screen I want.
LT Becky Brett
"Zathras"

10th SFS Tau'ri Furies
<<

Logan

Colonel
Colonel

Posts: 1774

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:54 pm

Location: Edenton, NC

Post Wed May 30, 2012 11:45 am

Re: Getting screenshots?

You can also just do a Google search for screenshots, avatars. etc. There are lots of sites that have them available.
Lisa Jackson
XO, SG-Operations: The Home Base of Stargate Fandom
XO, SG-7
My Moderating Color
the only easy day was yesterday...

Image
<<

Gideon Deschain

User avatar

Major
Major

Posts: 567

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:42 am

Location: Franklin, NC

Post Thu May 31, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Getting screenshots?

Both are excellent and accurate answers. I like to use both methods, one or the other being chosen depending on my goal. As for the snipping tool...if you're using newer versions of windows (Vista, 7, whatever) it should be already installed on your machine (I believe).

To find it, press the "Start" button on the bottom left of your screen and click on "All Programs". Then scroll down and look for a folder called "Accessories". Open it and look for "Snipping Tool". YAHTZEE, you're there! Experiment and enjoy! :-)
Maj. Gideon Deschain
CO, SG Shadow Hunters
SG-SOCOM
SG-Operations: The Home Base of Stargate Fandom

"Every meal a banquet, every paycheck a fortune, every formation a parade...I LOVE the Marine Corps!"
<<

Zathras

User avatar

2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant

Posts: 2139

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:54 am

Location: North Lauderdale, Florida

Post Thu May 31, 2012 11:56 am

Re: Getting screenshots?

and then save it to the start menu... I save all my stuff there I use often so I don't have to look for it. I have Vista and the snipping tool was already installed on laptop when I purchased it.
LT Becky Brett
"Zathras"

10th SFS Tau'ri Furies
<<

DustyBadger

User avatar

Private First Class
Private First Class

Posts: 983

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:44 pm

Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Post Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:55 am

Re: Getting screenshots?

You are right indeed there was a snipping tool, or a SkÀrmklippningsverktyg to be precise. This translation thingy makes things interesting sometimes.

I'll give it a try :)
NAME: ... that new guy Dr Jackson dragged in.
CALLSIGN: DustyBadger
RANK:
ASSIGNMENT: ... dont know yet, but it seems to have something to do with those early Asgardian artefacts SG1 found on Nifelheim.

I hope you like Guinness, sir. I find it a refreshing substitute for... food.
Col. Jack O'Neill. Lost City, part 1.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.